Religious Observances

Students who need to be absent from a class for religious obligation or observance reasons must make arrangements with instructors in advance using the Student Religious Accommodation Request Form. Completed forms must be submitted directly to the professor by the end of the second week of the term. One form is required for each requested observance and for each course.

The University of Oregon is committed to compliance with all applicable state and federal laws and regulations relating to religious accommodations of its stakeholders, and respects the right of all students and employees to observe their religious holidays, and will make reasonable accommodations, upon request, for such observances.

You can use the following Religious Observances Calendar to identify events, classes, exams or UO activities which may intersect with religious observances.

2018-2019

Fall Term 2018

Observance Religion Date(s) Day(s) Notes
Sukkot [Feast of Tabernacles] Jewish September 24-25, 2018 Monday-Tuesday Commences at sundown on the evening preceding the first day and ends at sundown or nightfall of the end date.
Shemini Atzeret & Simchat Torah Jewish October 1-2, 2018 Monday-Tuesday
Birth of the Báb Bahá'í October 20, 2018 Saturday
Birth of Bahá'u'lláh Bahá'í November 12, 2018 Monday
Mawlid-al-Nabi (Muhammed's birthday) Islamic November 20, 2018 Tuesday
Day of the Covenant Bahá'í November 26, 2018 Monday
Ascension of ’Abdu’l-Bahá Bahá'í November 28, 2018 Wednesday
Hanukkah (Chanukah) [8-day Feast] Jewish December 3-10, 2018 Monday-Monday
Bodhi Day (Rohatsu) Buddhist December 8, 2018 Saturday  
Winter Solstice (EST)   December 21, 2018 Friday  
Christmas Western Christian December 25, 2018 Tuesday  
Kwanzaa Interfaith / African- American December 26, 2018 - January 1, 2019 Wednesday-Tuesday  

Winter Term 2019

Observance Religion Date(s) Day(s) Notes
Gantan-sai (New Year) Shinto January 1, 2019 Tuesday  
Feast of the Nativity Eastern Orthodox January 7, 2019 Monday  
Asian Lunar New Year [Year of the Boar] Chinese February 5, 2019 Tuesday  
Vernal Equinox (EDT)   March 20, 2019 Wednesday  
Naw-Rúz  (Bahá'í New Year) Bahá'í March 21, 2019 Thursday Commences at sundown on the evening preceding the first day and ends at sundown or nightfall of the end date.
Purim Jewish March 21, 2019 Thursday Commences at sundown on the evening preceding the first day and ends at sundown or nightfall of the end date.

Spring Term 2019

Observance Religion Date(s) Day(s) Notes
Palm Sunday Western Christian April 14, 2019 Sunday  
Good Friday Western Christian April 19, 2019 Friday  
Passover (Pesach), 1st two days Jewish April 20-21, 2019 Saturday-Sunday Commences at sundown on the evening preceding the first day and ends at sundown or nightfall of the end date.
Easter Western Christian April 21, 2019 Sunday  
Palm Sunday Eastern Orthodox April 21, 2019 Sunday  
Ridvan Festival, 1st of 12 days Baha'í April 21, 2019 Sunday Commences at sundown on the evening preceding the first day and ends at sundown or nightfall of the end date.
Holy Friday Eastern Orthodox April 26, 2019 Friday  
Passover (Pesach), concluding days Jewish April 26-27, 2019 Fri.-Sat. Commences at sundown on the evening preceding the first day and ends at sundown or nightfall of the end date.
Pascha Eastern Orthodox April 28, 2019 Sunday  
9th Day of Ridvan Bahá'í April 29, 2019 Monday Commences at sundown on the evening preceding the first day and ends at sundown or nightfall of the end date.
12th Day of Ridvan Bahá'í May 2, 2019 Thursday
Beginning of Ramadan Islamic May 6, 2019 Monday
Declaration of the Báb Bahá'í May 23, 2019 Thursday
Ascension of Bahá'u'lláh Bahá'í May 29, 2019 Wednesday
Eid-al-Fitr (Eid-ul-Fitr) (first day of Shawwal) Islamic June 4, 2019 Tuesday Commences at sundown on the evening preceding the first day and ends at sundown or nightfall of the end date.
Dates are from Fiqh Council of North America (FCNA) and European Council for Fatwa and Research (ECFR) adopted Islamic Calendar.
Events based on sightability of the Moon in North America take place on the day following these dates.
Shavuot (Feast of Weeks) Jewish June 9-10, 2019 Sunday-Monday Commences at sundown on the evening preceding the first day and ends at sundown or nightfall of the end date.
Summer Solstice (EDT)   June 21, 2019 Friday  

Summer Session 2019

Observance Religion Date(s) Day(s) Notes
Martyrdom of the Báb Bahá'í July 9, 2019 Tuesday Commences at sundown on the evening preceding the first day and ends at sundown or nightfall of the end date.

Calendar prepared by the Division of Equity and Inclusion, July 2016